The Youth Education Committee hosted its 67th Annual State Conservation Awareness Poster & Speaking Contests at our 71st Annual Conference, held at Green Bay.


The conservation poster awareness theme this year was May the Forest Be With You Always. Those registered for the conference were allowed to vote for the winning posters prior to the start of the conference.

For the poster contest, the first-place winner in the primary, elementary, middle, junior, and senior divisions will move on to represent Wisconsin at the National Association of Conservation Districts (NACD) Poster Contest held at the NACD annual meeting in 2024.

Poster Contest Results

Primary Division (Grades K-1)

First Place: Ainsley Stepleton, Green Lake County
Second Place: Lynnette Herrild, Sauk County
Third Place: Audra Belisle, Polk County

Elementary Division (Grades 2-3)

First Place: Kenzie Abbrederis, Marquette County
Second Place: Tulip Ghorai, Washington County
Third Place: Hazel Canada, Vilas County

Middle Division (Grades 4-6)

First Place: Faith Wuthenow, Marathon County
Second Place: Amelia Czcapinski, Outagamie County
Third Place: Teva Ebel-Naber, Monroe County

Junior Division (Grades 7-9)

First Place: Evelyn Morse, Sawyer County
Second Place: Hannah Burchfield, Sauk County
Third Place: Ava Nor, Walworth County

Senior Division (Grades 10-12)

First Place: Jenna Collins, Washington County
Second Place: Erin Ewert, Sawyer County
Third Place: Karmen Paulus, Trempealeau County


The first-place winning speakers from the elementary, junior and senior divisions presented their speeches to a crowd of close to 500 conservation professionals and guests from across the state at the conference’s opening luncheon. Speeches had to address a relevant, soil and water conservation issue, with emphasis on the impact of the issue in their locality or in Wisconsin.

Area speaking contest winners presented their speeches to a panel of judges during the Annual Conference in Green Bay.

Speaking Contest Results

Elementary Division

First place: Delilah Solberg, Trempealeau County, "A Fishy Tail in Trempealeau County"
Second place: Adisyn Schoeneck, Oneida County, "Karner Blue Flutterbys"
Third place: Olivia Breger, Columbia County, "Pollution in Lake Michigan"

Junior Division

First place: Joshua Price, Rusk County, "Buckthorn and Invasive Species"
Second place: Mia Fuehrer, Marquette County, "Phrag-What-Now?"
Third Place: Jayden Brunner, Pepin County, "Herbicides and Pesticides"

Senior Division

First place: Carter Stueve, St. Croix County, "Emerald Ash Borer: A Shimmery, expensive and deadly threat"
Second place: Hazel Skarlupka, Vernon County, "The Effects of Agricultural Runoff and What We Can Do"
Third place: Amber Higley, Vilas County, "I Speak For the Trees...Because
They Only Talk to Each Other"

76th Annual Poster & Speaking Contest Press Release

View the full release to learn more about the contests.

View Release