≡ Menu

Conservation Observance Day

Conservation Observance Day is an annual event that recognizes the outstanding achievements of Wisconsin landowners who are protecting and enhancing our state’s natural resources.  This FREE event is open to the public and will be hosted by the 2018 Conservation Farmers of the Year, The Yanke Family/Echo-Y Farms of Sauk County. The celebration is scheduled for Friday, August 17, 2018 and made possible through funding by the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.

Click here for details (leaving WI Land+Water website).

Conservation Observance Day attracts a statewide audience comprised of county board members, county land and water conservation department staff, Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection and Natural Resources staff, UW-Extension and USDA personnel, and others interested in the protection and sustainable use of Wisconsin’s natural resources.  The day consists of speaker presentations, lunch and tours of the farm. 

Past Conservation Observance Days recognized the following farms:

2017: Dan and Kristie Shelliam Family, Lafayette County
2016: Joe and Leslie Meuer - Meuer Farm, Calumet County
2015: Ralph and Sheila Petersheim, Vernon County
2014: Dudley "Joe" and Marian Smith, Smith Farms, Eau Claire County
2013:  Brooks Farms, Waupaca County
2012:  Special event honoring the numerous youth initiatives in Wisconsin, Eagle River, Vilas County
2011:  John and Dorothy Priske, Fountain Prairie Farms, Columbia County
2010:  Peter and Suzie Arnold Farm, Marathon County
2009:  Mark and Cora Liebaert, Douglas County
2008:  Daleiden Farms, Pierce County
2007:  Thewis Farms, Buffalo County
2006:  Andrew and Stephanie Bures, Langlade County
2005:  Robert Brandt Farm, Marathon County
2004:  Chaplinski Farm, Taylor County
2003:  Ula Homestead Farm, Green County
2002:  Bragger Family Dairy, Buffalo County
2001:  Harold and Bonnie Haag, Sauk County
2000:  Carl Morsbach Farm, Pepin County
1999:  Sundbakken Farms, Polk County
1998:  Prairie View Farms, Buffalo County
1997:  Lorcrest Farms, Trempealeau County
1996:  Charles and Jill Schwichtenberg, Sauk County
1995:  Norma and Oscar Olson, Green County
1994:  Glenn and Greg Nelson and Family, Pierce County