≡ Menu
About

County Land and Water Conservation

County Land and Water Conservation Departments (LCDs) were created to provide local leadership in carrying out programs that conserve Wisconsin's land and water resources. Working closely with the Land and Water Conservation Committees (LCCs), they are the primary local delivery system of natural resource programs.

[Jump to LCC/LCD directory]

Their connection to county government gives them an understanding of local land and water resource problems and solutions. That's why they're an excellent source for conservation assistance and planning. They provide educational, technical and conservation planning assistance to help communities control rural and urban soil erosion; protect lakes, streams and groundwater; and manage woodlots, forests and wildlife.

To read more about County LCD achievements, please see the 2017 Wisconsin Land and Water Annual Progress Report.

Each county in the state is required to have a Land and Water Resource Management (LWRM) Plan approved by the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP).  For additional information, please see DATCP's LWRM web page.

County Land and Water Conservation Committees were created to provide local leadership in carrying out programs that conserve Wisconsin's land and water resources. Working closely with the LCDs, they are the primary local delivery system of natural resource programs.

Comprised of publicly-elected county board members, LCCs take a leading role in local land and water resource protection. They set the course for conservation in their counties by:

For full list of County Conservation Committees and Departments, visit the WI Land+Water Directory here.

To find your County Conservationist and Committee Chair, enter the name of the county in the box below or click "Show All":

Quick Find

Start typing and click your county when it appears.

Adams County Land & Water Conservation

http://www.co.adams.wi.us/de...
Florence Johnson, Supervisor Chair • (608) 339-6570
Kason Morley, County Conservationist • (608) 339-4275
kason.morley@co.adams.wi.us

Ashland County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.ashland.wi.us/...
George Mika, Supervisor Chair • (715) 278-3481
MaryJo Gingras, County Conservationist • (715) 682-7187
maryjo.gingras@co.ashland.wi.us

Barron County Soil & Water Conservation Department

http://www.barroncountywi.go...
Don Horstman, Supervisor Chair • (715) 822-8379
donald.horstman@co.barron.wi.us
Tyler Gruetzmacher , County Conservationist • (715) 537-6315
tyler.gruetzmacher@co.barron.wi.us

Bayfield County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.bayfieldcounty.or...
Fred Strand, Supervisor Chair • (715) 372-8455
fstrand@bayfieldcounty.org
Ben Dufford, County Conservationist • (715) 373-6167
bdufford@bayfieldcounty.org

Brown County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.brown.wi.us/de...
Norbert Dantinne, Supervisor Chair • (920) 863-6323
Dantinne_NA@co.brown.wi.us
Mike Mushinski, County Conservationist • (920) 391-4621
mushinski_ml@co.brown.wi.us

Buffalo County Land Conservation and Resource Management Department

http://www.buffalocounty.com...
Nettie Rosenow, Supervisor Chair • (608) 626-2581 
Nettie.Rosenow@co.buffalo.wi.us
Carrie Olson, County Conservationist • (608) 685-6264
carrie.olson@co.buffalo.wi.us

Burnett County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.burnettcounty.com...
Ed Peterson, Supervisor Chair • (715) 866-7127
ed54893@gmail.com
Dave Ferris, County Conservationist • (715) 349-2186
dferris@burnettcounty.org

Calumet County Resource Management Department

http://www.co.calumet.wi.us/...
Mike Hofberger, Supervisor Chair • (920) 418-5432
Mike.Hofberger@calumetcounty.org
Anthony Reali, County Conservationist • (920) 849-1493 ext 2406
Anthony.reali@calumetcounty.org

Chippewa County Land Conservation & Forest Management Department

http://www.co.chippewa.wi.us...
Dean Gullickson, Supervisor Chair • (715) 720-0810
dgullicksonl@co.chippewa.wi.us
Dan Masterpole, County Conservationist • (715) 726-7920
dmasterpole@co.chippewa.wi.us

Clark County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.clark.wi.us/in...
Fritz Garbisch, Supervisor Chair • (715) 238-7484
Jim Arch, County Conservationist • (715) 743-5285
James.Arch@co.clark.wi.us

Columbia County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.columbia.wi.us...
Mike Weyh, Supervisor Chair • (608) 742-2314
mike.weyh@co.columbia.wi.us
Kurt Calkins, Director • (608) 742-9670
Kurt.Calkins@co.columbia.wi.us

Crawford County Land Conservation Department

http://crawfordcountywi.org/...
Henry Esser, Supervisor Chair • (608) 345-4184
22buzze@gmail.com
David Troester, County Conservationist • (608) 326-0272
dtroester@crawfordcountywi.org

Dane County Land Conservation Department

https://www.countyofdane.com...
Carl Chenoweth, Supervisor Chair • (608) 873-4483
chenoweth.carl@countyofdane.com
Amy Piaget, County Conservationist • (608) 224-3740
piaget.amy@countyofdane.com

Dodge County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.dodge.wi.us/in...
Larry Bischoff, Supervisor Chair • (920) 349-3096
district17@co.dodge.wi.us
John Bohonek, County Conservationist • (920) 386-3660
jbohonek@co.dodge.wi.us

Door County Soil & Water Conservation Department

http://map.co.door.wi.us/swc...
Ken Fisher, Supervisor Chair • (920) 493-6245
district10@co.door.wi.us
Erin Hanson, County Conservationist • (920) 746-2216
ehanson@co.door.wi.us

Douglas County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.douglascountywi.o...
Sue Hendrickson, Supervisor Chair • (715) 398-7213
sue.hendrickson@douglascountywi.org
Vacant Vacant, County Conservationist • (715) 395-1266

Dunn County Land and Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.dunn.wi.us/ind...
Thomas Quinn, Supervisor Chair • (715) 265-4538
tquinn@co.dunn.wi.us
Daniel Prestebak, County Conservationist • (715) 232-1496 ext 2
dprestebak@co.dunn.wi.us

Eau Claire County Land Conservation Division

http://www.co.eau-claire.wi....
Robin Leary, Supervisor Chair • (715) 836-9139
robin.leary@co.eau-claire.wi.us
Greg Leonard, Land Conservation Manager • (715) 839-4784
greg.leonard@co.eau-claire.wi.us

Florence County Land Conservation Department

http://www.florencecountywi....
Larry Dzekute, Supervisor Chair • (715) 336-2578
Scott Wolf, County Conservationist, Zoning Administrator, Solid Waste Coordinator • (715) 528-3430
swolf@co.florence.wi.us

Fond du Lac County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.fdlco.wi.gov/depa...
Paul Tollard, County Conservationist • (920) 906-4672
paul.tollard@fdlco.wi.gov
Dale Theel, Supervisor Chair • (920) 923-4737
dtheel2@gmail.com

Forest County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.forest.wi.gov/...
Tom Tallier, Supervisor Chair • (715) 473-2191
ttallier@centurylink.net  
Al Murray, County Conservationist-Land Information/GIS Director • (715) 478-1387
lcc@co.forest.wi.us

Grant County Conservation, Sanitation and Zoning Department

http://www.co.grant.wi.gov/l...
Dwight Nelson, Supervisor Chair • (608) 348-9872
dfnelson1010@gmail.com
Lynda Schweikert, Department Head • 608-723-6377, Ext. 3
lynda.schweikert@wi.nacdnet.net

Green County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.green.wi.gov/l...
Oscar Olson, Supervisor Chair • (608) 325-2939
oolson@greencountywi.org
Todd Jenson, County Conservationist • (608) 325-4195 ext 119
todd.jenson@wi.nacdnet.net

Green Lake County Department of Land Conservation

http://www.co.green-lake.wi....
Robert Schweder, Supervisor Chair • (920) 295-3588
bschweder@co.green-lake.wi.us
Paul Gunderson, County Conservationist • (920) 294-4051
pgunderson@co.green-lake.wi.us

Iowa County Land Conservation Department

http://www.iowacounty.org/de...
Dave Gollon, Supervisor Chair • (608) 574-6710
supervisor6@iowacounty.org
Katie Abbott, County Conservationist • (608) 930-9892
Katherine.Abbott@iowacounty.org

Iron County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.iron.wi.gov/lo...
Brad Matson, Supervisor Chair • (715) 583-2393, Cell-(715) 518-8487
h2ospaniel@gmail.com
Heather Palmquist, County Conservationist • (715) 561-2234
lakes@ironcountywi.org

Jackson County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.jackson.wi.us/...
Ron Carney, Supervisor Chair • (608) 378-3604
Ron.Carney@co.jackson.wi.us
Gaylord Olson II, County Conservationist • (715) 284-0256
Gaylord.OlsonII@co.jackson.wi.us

Jefferson County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.jeffersoncountywi...
Matt Foelker, Supervisor Chair • (920) 728-6669
matthewf@jeffersoncountywi.gov
Mark Watkins, County Conservationist • (920) 674-7111
markw@jeffersoncountywi.gov

Juneau County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.juneau.wi.gov/...
Joe Lally, Supervisor Chair • (608) 464-3153
jflally@hotmail.com
Dustin Ladd, County Conservationist • (608) 847-7221
dladd@co.juneau.wi.us

Kenosha County Land & Water Conservation

http://co.kenosha.wi.us/inde...
John Poole, Supervisor Chair • (262) 945-4502
John.Poole@kenoshacounty.org
Dan Treloar, County Conservationist • (262) 857-1900
dan.treloar@kenoshacounty.org

Kewaunee County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.kewauneeco.org/lo...
Chuck Wagner, Supervisor Chair • 920-837-7712
wagner.charles@kewauneeco.org
Davina Bonness, County Conservationist • (920) 845-9742
bonness.davina@kewauneeco.org

La Crosse County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.la-crosse.wi.u...
Rick Cornforth, Supervisor Chair • (608) 781-0210
rcornforth@lacrossecounty.org
Greg Stangl, County Conservationist • (608) 785-9867
gstangl@lacrossecounty.org

Lafayette County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.lafayette.wi.g...
Gerald Heimann, Supervisor Chair • (608) 574-9799
Gerald.Heimann@lafayettecountywi.org
Terry Loeffelholz, County Conservationist • (608) 776-3836 ext 123
terry.loeffelholz@lafayettecountywi.org

Langlade County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.langlade.wi.us...
David Solin, Supervisor Chair • (715) 627-4221
dsolin@co.langlade.wi.us
Molly McKay, County Conservationist • (715) 627-6292
MMcKay@co.langlade.wi.us

Lincoln County Land Information & Conservation Department

http://www.co.lincoln.wi.us/...
Christopher Heller, Supervisor Chair • (715) 351-1500
Christopher.Heller@co.lincoln.wi.us
Matt Bremer, Land Services Administrator • (715) 539-1049
mbremer@co.lincoln.wi.us

Manitowoc County Soil & Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.manitowoc.wi.u...
Catherine Wagner, Supervisor Chair • (920) 775-4582
catherinewagner@co.manitowoc.wi.us
Jerry Halverson, Department Director •  (920) 683-4293
 jerryhalverson@co.manitowoc.wi.us

Marathon County Conservation, Planning & Zoning Department

http://www.co.marathon.wi.us...
Jacob Langenhahn, Supervisor Chair • (715) 581-6911
jacob.langenhahn@co.marathon.wi.us
Paul Daigle, County Conservationist • (715) 261-6006
paul.daigle@co.marathon.wi.us

Marinette County Land & Water Conservation Division

http://www.marinettecounty.c...
Ted Sauve, Supervisor Chair • (715) 735-7950
tsauve@marinettecounty.com
Greg Cleereman, Director/Conservationist • (715) 732-7780
gcleereman@marinettecounty.com

Marquette County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.marquette.wi.u...
Robin R. Buchholz, Supervisor Chair • (608) 296-3210
rbuchholz@co.marquette.wi.us
Patrick Kilbey, County Conservationist • (608) 296-2815
pat.kilbey@wi.nacdnet.net

Menominee County Land Conservation/Forestry/Zoning Department

http://www.co.menominee.wi.u...
Elizabeth Arnold, Supervisor Chair • 715/853-5519
larnold@co.menominee.wi.us
Jeremy Johnson, County Conservationist • (715) 799-5710
jeremyj@co.menominee.wi.us

Milwaukee County Environmental Services

http://county.milwaukee.gov/...
Jason Haas, Supervisor Chair • (414) 278-4252
Jason.Haas@milwaukeecountywi.gov
Steve Keith, County Conservationist • (414) 278-4936
stevan.keith@milwaukeecountywi.gov

Monroe County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.monroe.wi.us/d...
Nodji VanWychen, Supervisor Chair • (608) 378-4813
district_3@me.com
Bob Micheel, County Conservationist • (608) 269-8975
bob.micheel@co.monroe.wi.us

Oconto County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.oconto.wi.us/d...
Dennis Kroll, Supervisor Chair • (920) 822-5909
Ken Dolata, County Conservationist • (920) 834-7152
ken.dolata@co.oconto.wi.us

Oneida County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.oneida.wi.gov/...
Bob Mott, Supervisor Chair • (715) 487-1212
bobmott329@msn.com
Michele Sadauskas, County Conservationist • (715) 369-7835
msadauskas@co.oneida.wi.us

Outagamie County Land Conservation Department

http://www.outagamie.org/ind...
Daniel Rettler, Supervisor Chair • (920) 984-3107
daniel.rettler@outagamie.org
Greg Baneck, County Conservationist • (920) 832-5073
greg.baneck@outagamie.org

Ozaukee County Land & Water Management Department

http://www.co.ozaukee.wi.us/...
Jennifer Rothstein, Supervisor Chair • (262) 241-5931
jrothstein@co.ozaukee.wi.us
Andy Holschbach, County Conservationist • (262) 284-8271
aholschbach@co.ozaukee.wi.us

Pepin County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.pepin.wi.us/in...
Tom Milliren, Supervisor Chair • (715) 285-5202
tstssmil@nelson-tel.net
Chase Cummings, County Conservationist • (715) 672-8665 ext 5
ccummings@co.pepin.wi.us

Pierce County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.pierce.wi.us/L...
Jerry Kosin, Supervisor Chair • (715) 262-5677
Rod Webb, County Conservationist • (715) 273-6763
Rodney.webb@co.pierce.wi.us

Polk County Land & Water Resource Department

http://www.co.polk.wi.us/ind...
Kim O'Connell, Supervisor Chair • (715) 755-3145
Tim Ritten, County Conservationist • (715) 485-8631
timr@co.polk.wi.us

Portage County Land Conservation Division

http://co.portage.wi.us/plan...
Barry Jacowski, Supervisor Chair • (715) 366-8500
Steve Bradley, County Conservationist • (715) 346-1334
bradleys@co.portage.wi.us

Price County Zoning & Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.polk.wi.us/ind...
James Hintz, Supervisor Chair • (715) 427-2826
jim.hintz@co.price.wi.us
Evan Lund, County Conservationist • (715) 339-2550
lcd@co.price.wi.us

Racine County Land Conservation Division

http://www.racineco.com/land...
David Cooke, Supervisor Chair • (262) 633-8352
david.cooke@racinecounty.com
Chad Sampson, County Conservationist • (262) 886-8440
chad.sampson@racinecounty.com

Richland County Land Conservation Department

http://landconservation.co.r...
Steve Williamson, Supervisor Chair • (608) 574-5520
steve.williamson@co.richland.wi.us
Cathy Cooper, County Conservationist • (608) 647-2100
cathy.cooper@wi.nacdnet.net

Rock County Land Conservation

http://www.co.rock.wi.us/lan...
Richard Bostwick, Supervisor Chair • (608) 752-9199
richard.bostwick@co.rock.wi.us
Thomas Sweeney, County Conservationist • (608) 754-6617, Ext. 4755
thomas.sweeney@co.rock.wi.us

Rusk County Land Conservation & Development Department

http://www.ruskcounty.org/de...
Roger Gierke, Supervisor Chair • 9715) 452-5895
rgierke@ruskcountywi.us
John "L.J." Krell, County Conservationist • (715) 532-2162
jkrell@ruskcountywi.us

Sauk County Conservation, Planning & Zoning Department

http://www.co.sauk.wi.us/cpz
William Wenzel, Supervisor Chair • (608) 235-8024
william.wenzel@saukcountywi.gov
Melissa Keenan, Resource Conservationist • (608) 355-4838
Melissa.keenan@saukcountywi.gov

Sawyer County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.sawyercountygov.o...
Bruce Paulsen, Supervisor Chair • (715) 634-3618
Bruce.paulsen@sawyercountygov.org
Dale Olson, County Conservationist • (715) 638-3259
conservation@sawyercountygov.org

Shawano County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.shawano.wi.us/...
Scott M. Frank, County Conservationist • (715) 524-6273
scott.frank@co.shawano.wi.us

Sheboygan County Planning & Conservation Department

http://www.sheboygancounty.c...
Fran Damp, Supervisor Chair • (920) 698-2110
fran.damp@sheboygancounty.com
Eric Fehlhaber, County Conservationist • (920) 459-1370
eric.fehlhaber@sheboygancounty.com

St. Croix County Community Development Department, Resource Management Division

http://www.co.saint-croix.wi...
Dan Hanson, Supervisor Chair • (715) 222-9871
District12@sccwi.gov
Vacant Vacant, Resource Management Administrator • (715) 531-1905

Taylor County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.taylor.wi.us/d...
Randy Soper, Supervisor Chair • (715) 785-7969
ray.soper@co.taylor.wi.us
Benjamin Stanfley, County Conservationist Engineer • (715) 748-1469
benjamin.stanfley@co.taylor.wi.us

Trempealeau County Department of Land Management

http://www.tremplocounty.com...
George Brandt, Supervisor Chair • (715) 299-1914
brandtgeorge3@gmail.com
Kirstie Heidenreich, Planning & Conservation Coordinator • (715) 538-2311 ext. 254
kirstieh@tremplocounty.com

Vernon County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.vernoncounty.org/...
Will Beitlich, Supervisor Chair • (608) 483-2664
willb@mwt.net
Ben Wojahn, County Conservationist • (608) 637-5482
bwojahn@vernoncounty.org

Vilas County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.vilasconservation...
Jay Verhulst, Supervisor Chair • (715) 356-9744
verhulst@frontier.com
Carolyn Scholl, County Conservationist • (715) 479-3747
cascho@vilascountywi.gov

Walworth County Land Use & Resource Management Dept.

http://www.co.walworth.wi.us...
Shannon Haydin, County Conservationist/Deputy Director • (262) 741-7912
shaydin@co.walworth.wi.us
Charlene Staples, Supervisor Chair • (262) 728-3091
Char2day2@gmail.com
Michael P. Cotter, Director • (262) 741-7915
mcotter@co.walworth.wi.us

Washburn County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.washburn.wi.us...
Tim Kessler, Supervisor Chair • (715) 635-6834
tkessler@co.washburn.wi.us
Lisa Burns, Conservation Coordinator • (715) 468-4654
lburns@co.washburn.wi.us

Washington County Land & Water Conservation Division

http://www.co.washington.wi....
Jeffrey Schleif, Supervisor Chair • (262) 253-0976
jeffrey.schleif@co.washington.wi.us
Paul Sebo, County Conservationist • (262) 335-4805
paul.sebo@co.washington.wi.us

Waukesha County Land Resources Division

http://www.waukeshacounty.go...
David Zimmermann, Supervisor Chair • (262) 339-0092
DDZimmermann@waukeshacounty.gov
Perry Lindquist, Land Resources Manager • (262) 548-7867
plindquist@waukeshacounty.gov

Waupaca County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.waupaca.wi.us/...
DuWayne Federwitz, Supervisor Chair • (715) 823-3280
DuWayne.Federwitz@co.waupaca.wi.us
Brian Haase, County Conservationist • (715) 258-6482
brian.haase@co.waupaca.wi.us

Waushara County Zoning and Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.waushara.wi.us...
Mark Piechowski, Supervisor Chair • (920) 566-0300
wcb7@co.waushara.wi.us
Ed Hernandez, Deputy Director • (920) 787-0453
ed.courthouse.co.waushara.wi.us

Winnebago County Land & Water Conservation Department

http://www.co.winnebago.wi.u...
Chuck Farrey, Supervisor Chair • (920) 582-7733
chuckfarrey@gmail.com
Tom Davies, Director • (920) 232-1951
tdavies@co.winnebago.wi.us

Wood County Land Conservation Department

http://www.co.wood.wi.us/Dep...
Kenneth Curry, Supervisor Chair • (715) 459-3392
wcdistrict11@co.wood.wi.us 
Shane Wucherpfennig, County Conservationist • (715) 421-8475
swucherpfennig@co.wood.wi.us