≡ Menu
Member Resources

Land & Water Conservation Board

The Land and Water Conservation Board (LWCB) connect local and state governments on conservation and farmland preservation issues.

Three candidates were nominated to serve beginning in January 2017: David Solin, Langlade County, North Central Area; Carl T. Chenoweth, Dane County, Southern Area, and Patrick J. Laughrin, Calumet County, Lake Winnebago Area. View the biographies of the three LWCB candidates

In even-numbered years, WI Land+Water is responsible for holding elections for three members to serve on the state LWCB.  Each area is encouraged to nominate one candidate to serve on the LWCB.  The LWCB is attached to the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) and advises DATCP and the Department of Natural Resources (DNR).  Chapters 92 and 281.65 of the Wisconsin statutes further delineate the LWCB’s program authorities and responsibilities.

The LWCB is composed of three state agency leaders; one Governor-appointed member that serves a two-tear term; four Governor-appointed members representing urban, rural, river management and natural resource preservation areas; and three members of county land conservation committees.

View the LWCB Bylaws.

Learn more about the LWCB and upcoming meetings (leave WI Land+Water site).